Hoopla Blue - Pl​(​^​)​nted (12" Eco​-​Mix Colour Vinyl & Digital Download)

by Hoopla Blue

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £7.99 GBP  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    HOOPLA BLUE unleash their debut album ‘Pl(^)nted’ - pronounced ‘planted’ - an exhilarating 11-track record that sees the Birmingham outfit confront themes of identity and settlement - both generationally and geographically.

    This limited edition LP comes with an "Eco-Mix" vinyl - a eco-friendly idea that uses up leftover coloured pellets from previous vinyl runs, mixes them together and produces a run of randomised ‘lucky-dip’ colour vinyl. This cuts down on waste and can also result in some impressive colours. Every single record pressed with the Eco-Mix has its own individual colour and effect.

    Sonically, ‘Pl(^)nted’ fuses traditional and electronic elements to create an atmosphere that explores the boundaries of art-rock, space-pop and experimental, as heard with their singles 'Sa(sea)lt', 'Scour' and 'Fire Alarm'.

    Supported by PRS Foundation, ‘Pl(^)nted’ was self-produced at The Cottage, a remote 18th Century residential studio perched on the edge of Loch Fyne in the Scottish Highlands (used by The Twilight Sad and GoGo Penguin) and has been mastered at London's prestigious Metropolis Studios by Felix Davis (Lana Del Rey, The Big Moon, HMLTD).

    Bookended by the reflective space-pop-twinged opener ‘Walking in Tongue’ and the achingly melodic yet roaring closer ‘A Gnome’, it becomes apparent that this record pushes way beyond any expectations of the band, made possible only when the artist maintains full creative control of their recording process.

    It was this unlimited creative freedom that resulted in so many of the record's most inspiring and idiosyncratic moments, whether that be the raw, pulsating drive of ‘Houseplant’, the synthetic yet vulnerable essence of ‘Fire Alarm, the whirlwind horror-pop texture of ‘Sa(sea)lt’, or the thundering, raucous paranoia of ‘W.A.S.P’.

    Taking inspiration from the delicate soundscapes of Grizzly Bear, the textured energy of Broken Social Scene, and the tender, introspective core of Ghostpoet, ‘Pl(^)nted’’ is a tour de force that ruminates on all the insecurities found in the human condition when we question the foundations on which we operate, the influence of the choices we make and the expectations we repeatedly bow down to as a species.

    01. Walking in Tongue
    02. Scour
    03. Swoon
    04. Houseplant
    05. Fire Alarm
    06. Mischievous Gallery
    07. Wildflower
    08. W.A.S.P
    09. Sa(sea)lt
    10. Powerplant
    11. A Gnome


    Includes unlimited streaming of Hoopla Blue - Pl(^)nted (12" Eco-Mix Colour Vinyl & Digital Download) via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ... more
    ships out within 3 days

      £15 GBP or more 


Scour 03:35
Swoon 04:48
Houseplant 04:08
Fire Alarm 04:43
Wildflower 04:45
W.A.S.P 04:12
Sa(sea)lt 02:46
Powerplant 05:35
A Gnome 05:48


released April 17, 2020

Hoopla Blue are Adam Tomes, Leighton Rees, Samuel Wilson, Thomas Rees and Thomas Hewson | Written & Produced by Hoopla Blue | Recorded & Mixed by Leighton Rees in Loch Fyne & Birmingham | Mastered at Metropolis Studios | Photography by Sam Frank Wood | Additional Artwork by Joseph Tyers & Charles Doshagic

This release has been supported by PRS Foundation’s Flash Funding in association with Key Production Group.


all rights reserved



FOMA Birmingham, UK

Independent record label & artist management.

#HarmlessUntruths events.

Our family:

Hoopla Blue
Burning Alms
Repeat of Last Week
... more

contact / help

Contact FOMA

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Hoopla Blue - Pl(^)nted (12" Eco-Mix Colour Vinyl & Digital Download), you may also like: